Catwalk

May 30, 2008

I dropped out of school at CCAC a year early. And so instead of a senior year fashion show in the city in front of hundreds with a DJ and national press, I staged an event at home. This was my first public collection- mattress ticking, brown velvet, and a transparent print that I found at the Bargain Barn. The model in the pictured was walking down the street and I happened to be out front watering and asked her to walk for me. Turned out she was a high paid and quite famous model working in Japan. She was home in the states for a bit and gladly participated. The event was free and so many people turned out, sitting in the hay with the chickens and dogs. Drinking beer and dancing afterward. And although it was short (when you show only six outfits it all goes by in about 5 minutes), I felt that I had officially “started” on this career.

That catwalk, which Josh and I built the day before with wood from the dump, has become a fixture in the yard and a sunny place for eating, reading, dancing, and chicken shit.

Leave a Reply

