Enveloped

June 2, 2008

Most of my excursions revolve around Bello. Basically getting him out in the world doing fun dog things. This ride was amazing. It is hard to tell but the grass was atleast 8 feet in some places along the path. It was evening by this time and we were just cruising. The bike equivalent of a stroll. He was tired and content to relax and look around. And the smell! Portland in the springtime is a concoction of every possible blooming flower- on trees, shrubs, little creepers, garden plants, wide fields. I have to stop all the time to find the smell on the air.

This time I stopped to pee in the tall grass and a bicyclist my age rode by and looked down on me. “hey” I said with heavy acceptance of my predicament. He laughed out loud with appreciation.

3 Responses to “Enveloped”

  1. Jaylene said

    This is a beautiful bike path! Living in Eugene, the possibility of living in Portland is always looming over our heads, but being car-free and wanting to stay that way, Portland seems so daunting. We have wonderful bike paths here also, but man! That photo is awesome. Where was it taken? (been admiring your work and your life, by the way)

  2. Hi Jaylene- this is the lead up to the Marine Drive bikeway that runs along the Columbia. I have been car-free for the past 8 years or so but I bought a car when I moved up here. I don’t use it much but during the winter I have to admit I ended up relying on it more that I thought I would. Portland is bigger and wetter than Santa Cruz and I have to toughen up.

Leave a Reply

