Friends of Filly

January 15, 2010

It started with my very first collection. The store orders had gone out but there were still the overcuts of each style, all stacked in boxes and crowding the house. “Oooh, I love this one…” “Oh Emilyn, you  should just try it on, it would look so good on you…” and before long this tradition of trying on the overcuts became a celebrated event.

Each season, my friends, and friends of my friends, and eventually just friends of Filly get together and try everything on. How fun! How comfortable! How unusual to “shop” this way. And ultimately, how satisfying for all of us: I get an opportunity to meet my customers and see the clothes on bodies! They get to meet the person who made the clothing and access to every style and color. We call it Friends of Filly and it is now the most rewarding part of my job- an intimate gathering of Filly faithfuls and a really good time (chocolate, tea, and naked bods!)

8 Responses to “Friends of Filly”

  1. k a t said

    Hello!

    I would be excited and honored to host this kind of event! I frequently have “naked lady” parties at my house. So I already have a list of ladies to call on. Most of them are into diy and supporting women artists. Of course all kinds of people would be welcome. 🙂

    I live in northwest seattle, Ballard to be exact and have a space that’s a good size.

    Even if mine isn’t the house to host I would love to attend one of these in my area. Keep me posted!

  2. Rebecca said

    I have been reading your blog for….well a long time. I absolutely adore your clothes and your voice. Seattle doesn’t have a good resource for your clothes – many of the shops that carried them are closed. So I sit and hope that someday I’ll get to buy something. And now, I read your blog entry about extending your “celebrated event!” And, that’s followed by a note by someone from Seattle offering to host or attend a house party! I’m there! What a treat. Put me on the email thread for Seattle. Happy to help or whatever.

  3. heidi said

    Hi there Emily,

    Let me know if you are interested in taking this concept to the east coast. I would be more than happy to organize some women together in SW New Hampshire!

Leave a Reply

