Play By Play

March 1, 2011

We got into Vancouver on Tuesday night. Luke’s friend Aja lives in a cute back house on East Pender, just up from Chinatown. We felt comfortable there, with her, cozy in a big white room with a futon on the floor and Bello nearby. I slept well and was full of energy for the fitting on Wednesday at the event center.
Wednesday morning the three of walked to the venue for Eco Fashion Week. The Salt Building is a beautiful old warehouse surrounded by new Olympic buildings in the Athletes Village along the waterfront. These new buildings do not do much for me, or apparently anyone else. They stand empty while the city confronts serious homelessness. According to Aja this pretty much sums up Vancouver.
During the fitting I was able to talk with the Aveda team about styling for the show. I wanted something like the Grace Coddington spread for Vogue.

But creating that hair would require 6 or 7 hours. Right before the show I was told that Aveda went out and purchased wigs for the occasion which they brushed out, parted, and flatten on top. The girls looked so good.
And according to Luke they looked even better out on the runway. I wouldn’t know. I was backstage literally flying around, yanking on dresses, cinching waist ties, and sending them out in order. And in a second it was over. In a second all the tension, work, stress, excitement, and adrenaline subsided. When the interviews started I was at a lack for words. Reasons why I use organic? Because. Inspiration? I don’t remember. All I know is that I’m done.

2 Responses to “Play By Play”

  1. Anna said

    I enjoyed your work at the show and online- congrats!

  2. Kelly Brown said

    Oh my gosh. My heart is pumping and I am teary-eyed thinking about all the work you’ve done to get here, where you’ve come from and how awesome it is that your ideas were sent down a big kid runway for lots of folks to see. I am reminded of other runways your clothes have been sent down: curvy deck/runway running through the garden at the compound and that quirky Santa Cruz fashion show with all of us funky bike girls modeling. Congratulations Emily!

Leave a Reply

