I Love My Job

February 9, 2012

I walked to a potluck last night, through neighborhoods where people had not yet closed their blinds for the night. I could see them as the went about their evening routine. A lot of TV and a lot of snacking. I don’t remember anyone doing anything else.
I was struck by the wide openness of their night. They got off work and came home. Now what?
And I was struck by my assumption that I would enjoy a similar lifestyle that separated work from the rest of one’s life. Or, my accurately, my prior assumption. Because I have to admit, TV watching and snacking didn’t look that great. At least not every night. And I realized, once again, how much I love my job. My little private job that requires all of my attention, even after dinner. A collection is a story and when I put a half-made dress down, to go to yoga or eat or meet a friend, I cant stop thinking about that character. I can’t wait to see what she will decide next, how she will evolve, what role she will play in the plot. I am happy not to know about the latest shows because I have my own show right here.
Thank you for supporting Filly. I wouldn’t know what else to do with myself.

2 Responses to “I Love My Job”

  1. Goodness | said

    […] love my job. Once again, Emily from Filly says it far better than I ever […]

Leave a comment