Food Obsession Exhibit B

February 16, 2012

If you are like me you don’t so much cook a meal, you mostly heat a vegetable either by steaming or baking and eat it plain. A typical recipe of mine consists of: kale, olive oil. Or squash, olive oil. So when something comes along that can be added to that “dish”, it’s pretty exciting. Enter Gomasio. This shake seasoning was in the cabinet for months and sometimes I would see Sarah use a bit. One day I gave my Brussels Sprouts a sprinkle and Oh My God. What a little sesame seeds, sea salt, dulce, nori and kombu flakes will do to a bowl of greens. I blew through our supply in a couple of days and raced out to buy another jar. And then Natalie mentioned loving it as well and making it herself. Oh, right, it’s just five ingredients. And so I promptly made a batch. And even though I didn’t get the ratio just right and mine looks and tastes like fish food, I still love it. Give it a try, it’s healthy!

5 Responses to “Food Obsession Exhibit B”

  1. Charlie O said

    I’m from Hawaii and we have something like it that we call furikake. We love to sprinkle it on rice or musubi. I can make you some yummy island food for our next meeting if you’d like to try some 🙂

  2. Heather said

    Oh jeepers, I have not had this since I was a kid (clearly me = hippy kid), but I am thrilled to be reminded of it. Wanty!

    Heather

    P.S. Did you get my note via your website form about the Linear top?

  3. sarah said

    that bottle is from the simpson st house. i know this because it says “open sesame” on the side….how did it end up at your house?!

Leave a Reply

