New Direction

April 19, 2012

Tomorrow I leave for Portland. Suddenly. A shift of plans.
I don’t feel done with Santa Cruz (Ha! Will I ever?), but I am heading home… to my deco-colored house, my dear wife, my cucumber-hued yoga studio, my yard. While I was gone one of my chickens was killed by a raccoon. Big Peaches. She left behind a small brown feathered best friend named Cowboy. I want to cradle little Cowboy in my arms and erase the memories of that night. I want to dig the beds and sow the Zinnia and Cosmo seeds. It is time to put down Filly, for a bit, and pick up the house. Time for the Farmer’s Market and dinner parties on the back patio.
Goodbye Santa Cruz. Be good. I’ll see you in August.

Leave a Reply

